Thursday, February 21, 2019
Text Size

Young Artist Award


to provide recognition for developing young trumpeters

ITG announces the Young Artist Award to provide recognition for developing young trumpeters. Winners will receive a one-year membership to ITG and will be featured in the ITG Journal. Nominations will be accepted only from music teachers and private instructors, and nominees must be high school students (age 18 or younger) at the date of nomination. Winners will be chosen by a panel of judges.

To nominate a student, mail or email a letter of recommendation to:

David Bohnert, ITG Young Artist Awards
Director of Bands/Trumpet Instructor
Wayne State College
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Letters must include mailing addresses, phone/fax numbers, and email addresses of the teacher and nominee. Entries will be accepted at any time and will be active for one year from the date of submission. Winners will be selected on December 15, April 15, July 15, and September 15.


Title Filter 

Display # 
1 2016 June Young Artist Award Chen Jia-Wei
2 2016 March Young Artist Award
3 2016 January Young Artist Award Coleman Scott
4 2015 October Young Artist Award Robby Garrison
5 June 2015 Young Artist Award
6 2015 March YAA Geoff Gallante
7 January 2015 Young Artist Award
8 October 2014 Young Artist Award
9 June 2014 Young Artist Award
10 March 2014 Young Artist Award
11 January 2014 Young Artist Award Winner
12 June 2013 Young Artist Award Winner
13 March 2013 Young Artist Award Winner
14 January 2013 Young Artist Award Winner
15 October 2012 Young Artist Award Winner
16 March 2012 Young Artist Award Winner
17 October 2011 Young Artist Award Winner
18 June 2011 Young Artist Award Winner: Ryan Gilbert
19 March 2011 Young Artist Award Winner: Leah Reber
20 January 2011 Young Artist Award Winner: Brittney Self
21 October 2010 Young Artist Award Winner: Adam Keefe
22 June 2010 Young Artist Award Winners
23 March 2010 Winner: Lakyn Baker
24 January 2010 Winner: Anthony Bellino
25 October 2009 Winner: Eric Millard

Page 1 of 3



About the Editor: David Bohnert is Professor of Music and Director of Bands at Wayne State College where he teaches conducting, music education, applied trumpet, and brass methods, as well as serving as director for the WSC Wind Ensemble and Marching Band. He holds the Bachelor of Music (Trumpet Performance) and Bachelor of Music Education degrees from Southeast Missouri State University. He earned the Master of Music degree in Trumpet Performance from the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music, where he also served as a graduate teaching assistant with the University Bands. He has done post-graduate study at the Eastman School of Music and the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music, where he completed the DMA (Trumpet Performance).

An active performer, Bohnert plays regularly with A Touch of Brass, the Sioux City Symphony Orchestra and Municipal Band, in addition to maintaining an active solo recital schedule. He has recently performed at the International Trumpet Guild conference and the American Guild of Organists conference and is on the recording reviewing staff for the journal of the International Trumpet Guild.

David was selected for the 2009 State National Bank Teaching Excellence Award at Wayne State College. He resides in Wayne, Nebraska with his wife Melissa and their three sons, Ethan, Aidan, and Nolan.

Restore Default Settings