Thursday, February 21, 2019
Text Size

Suite in Bb Major

composer: Corelli, Arcangelo (1653-1713) (ed. by Maganini)
title: Suite in Bb Major
publisher: Edition Musicus
level: Junior High / High School Intermediate
range: b’’ (optional c’’’)
description: This suite is made up of six short pieces by Corelli: Sarabande, Interlude, Gavotte, Arioso, Allemanda, and Gigue. The Arioso is a lyrical piece, while the others are based upon traditional Baroque dances, of which, the Sarabande is also slow and melodic. In reference to the range requirements, the higher notes are indicated that they can be played down an octave in many cases, but the required high notes may present a challenge to younger students. The suite is definitely challenging, but musically very rewarding.
Restore Default Settings